Photo-A-Day: Simple

Simple. I needed simple today. Not because it was a bad day but because it was just one of those days where I had a lot to do and felt like I was running behind the entire time. In the end, I got it all done. I just didn’t get it completed in the order I had planned but it turned out to be the better way.

Anyway, after a long day, I needed a snack. One of my favorite low-carb/no sugar added treats to have on hand is almond flour muffins. I have this basic recipe I found online years ago that I have tweaked a little and found many ways to alter it for different types of fruit, flavors, and even savory options. It makes for a simple treat that I always enjoy.

The most recent batch I made was Strawberry Lemonade Muffins. They are so good and I love to eat them with some butter spread on top!

Week-8-Day-56-Simple

These go great with a tall glass of milk, too!

Here’s the recipe for those who might be interested:

Basic Low-Carb Muffin Recipe:
2.5 cups Almond Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
4 tsp NuNaturals White Stevia Powder
2-3 Eggs (depending on size) *I almost always use three.
1/4 cup Milk of Choice
1/2 cup Melted Butter
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

For Strawberry Lemonade Muffins Add:
1.5 cups Finely Diced Strawberries
Zest of 1 Lemon
Juice of 1 Lemon

For Lemon Poppyseed Muffins Add:
Zest of 1 Lemon
Juice of 1 Lemon
1 tsp of Poppy seeds

For Blueberry Muffins Add:
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Ginger
1 small container fresh Blueberries

And the options are endless really. I’ve even taken out the Stevia and Vanilla and added shredded cheddar cheese to make a savory version, too.

Well, that’s it from me today. I’m tired and ready to go to sleep! Good night and sweet dreams.

Leave a Reply

