Photo-A-Day: A Sign

This sign has a fun story! It was something that hung in my Grannie’s kitchen when I was a kid and I remember the first time I read it, I laughed because it is so my Grannie!! And to top it off, we were standing in the kitchen by the sink doing dishes (which is where it was hung, of course). You see, Grannie went years without a dishwasher. She hand washed every single dish long after it wasn’t normal to not have one. Their kitchen was just too small for it.

When they finally remodeled, my Grannie got her dishwasher and I’m not sure if that is when the sign was taken down or not. Well, time went by and I had forgotten all about it until a few years ago. I was working on a scrapbook page for a challenge and it was to make a page about a quote. So, I was thinking about what to do, and the line from this sign popped into my head. I just knew I had to make a page about my Grannie and this sign; so I did.

When I showed it to her, she had forgotten about that sign too and loved that I had remembered it! She secretly went looking for it in the basement and a few weeks later, I received a package from her with this very sign inside of it! I was so excited!! I hung it up immediately and whenever I look at it, I think of her and all those times we stood in her kitchen and washed and dried dishes together.

Week-14-Day-101-A-Sign

And, of course, it now hangs in my kitchen just above the sink. <Insert CHEESY grin here!>

So, I hope you enjoyed my little story today and that it brings a smile to your face as this sign has done for me so many times. Thanks for reading and I hope you all have a great day!

PS – I know this post is a day late. We’ve had a crazy couple of days since Friday afternoon and I just wasn’t able to do this yesterday. So, I’ll be playing catch up and try to get another post in today if I can.

Leave a Reply

