Photo-A-Day: Something New

Today, something new arrived in the mail. I spent so much time researching this that I feel like an expert now. It’s also something I’ve wanted for a long time so I’m pretty excited about it! You know you’ve arrived to adulthood when cookware makes you this happy!

So, in case you’d like to glean from what I’ve learned, here’s a brief summary of what I came to understand about enameled cookware.

  • There are four major brands to consider: Le Creuset (LC), Staub, Lodge, or Tramontina. LC and Staub are the more expensive brands while Lodge and Tramontina are the more affordable ones.
  • The difference in cost is not as much to do with where they are made (although that’s part of it), it’s also to do with how they are made. According to this link, LC and Staub are made with a hard enamel finish and the more affordable brands are made with a porcelain enamel finish. They state here that the extra layers of enamel are what make LC or Staub the “100 year pots”.
  • LC and Staub are argued to have better quality control according to reviews I’ve read online.

All that being said, I was not about to shell out such a large amount of money for an LC pot unless it really was worth it. You see, my current cook ware is on it’s way out. I only bought them a few years ago. This time around, I didn’t want to buy anything unless it was going to last more than 3-5 years. I’ve read a lot about how cooking with enameled cast iron is one of the safest ways to cook. So for me, it was down to LC or Lodge.

Both brands have pretty colors, numerous 5 star reviews online, and lifetime limited warranties. In the short term, both brands cook food in the same way, with no discernible differences in taste, quality, etc. But what got me worried about doing the more economical version, was that almost all of the 1 and 2 star reviews, were for the same reason; the pot broke within 1-2 years of purchasing it. It was safe to say that the bulk of the 5 star reviews for the Lodge brand were for the people who had recently purchased their dutch ovens. I was more interested in reviews of how it held up over time and those were mixed.

So, in the end, I decided to go with something I know can last and got the LC 7.5 quart dutch oven in my favorite teal/blue color!! Over time, I’ll be saving up for more pieces but for now, this will give me a good start as my soup pot was the piece that needed replacing immediately.

In an effort to show you just how beautiful the color of this cookware is, the photos of the box before it’s opened are in black and white:

And here it is, in all it’s pretty glory:

Week-24-Day-166-6-15-Something-New-5

In the end, I was more ok with spending more now so as to avoid having to replace this piece again in a few years. Only time will tell if that was the right decision but for now, I’m just excited to make my first meal in it tomorrow! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you all have had a decent Monday!!

Leave a Reply

