Still Life: Intentional No. 2

Trying to examine my life and be more intentional with my time is more complicated than it sounds. First, it’s convicting! There are so many easy ways to waste one’s time. Facebook, Pinterest, iPhone games, TV, and on and on the time sucker list goes.

Second, it’s easy to fall into the trap of making it legalistic. It’s one thing to obey, it’s another thing to do it because it’s just another checkmark on a list of things to do or not do.

Third, there are so many things I want to do and still not enough hours in the day. Especially when I have to set aside anywhere from 1-3 hours for a nap before lunch every single day due to my illness.

As is with so much of life and faith, it comes down to a balance. One that can only be achieved through regularly examining the things in our lives that we do, think, feel, say, want, love, hate, etc… and to regularly examine that against the Bible.

Finding that balance, I believe, is a never ending task. As we face each day, we learn new things about God, ourselves, and others. This offers each day the chance to grow and be challenged or the chance to stay complacent or stuck. One way to work on growth is to find news ways to intentionally set time aside for the things that really matter.

For me, that means setting time aside for exercise, bible study, reading, work, cooking, chores, and a few other daily activities. I’ve also been noticing that my prayer life isn’t what it should be. I love to sit and do bible studies but I’m not great at remembering to pray or reflect on that and the other important things/people God has placed in my life.

I have days where I’m better about being intentional with my time than others. It’s a constant battle to fight against the illness, too. One that causes pain and fatigue makes it EASY to talk oneself out of anything. I’m always trying to battle that against when I do really need to stop and rest.

In the end, I’m just trying to live each day in a way where I’m more satisfied and more aware of what I’ve done, why I’ve done it, and can feel like I’m living more honorably than I used to. I want to honor God with my life, my thoughts, my actions, and my desires. I want to live this way because I want to live this way so that I can be sincere in my love for Him and for others.

Intentional No. 2

Intentional No. 2

And in a way to bring the picture into the meaning of this post, I want to post the definition of intentional:

in•ten•tion•al – adjective – done on purpose; deliberate.

Thanks for looking and I hope you have a great rest of the weekend!

Jen

Leave a Reply

